Police agencies are issuing warnings about the latest iPhone update (17.1.1) and why you should turn NameDrop off. The feature allows users to share contact information and photos between iPhones by simply touching the tops of each phone together. This could lead to people stealing your contact information.

NameDrop Feature Safety Concerns
Ashwaubenon Public Safety is warning iPhone users of a new feature on the latest Apple update that has the potential to share personal information.
With the new Apple update, “NameDrop” is enabled by default. With this feature enabled, anyone can place their phone next to yours (or your child’s phone) and potentially receive their contact information to include their picture, phone number, email address and more, with a tap of your unlocked screen and approval.
We've added a video to help show a step-by-step on how to disable this feature. Just go to Settings – General – AirDrop – and shut off “Bringing Devices Together”.
Posted by Ashwaubenon Public Safety on Monday, November 27, 2023
🚨 | Police issue urgent warning over new iOS iPhone update
Read more:https://t.co/YpTxPQY7N9
— UNILAD (@UNILAD) November 27, 2023